Vallée de la Bruche
Alsace - Massif des Vosges - France

Strasbourg Philharmonic Orchestra

Home Strasbourg Philharmonic Orchestra
© Gérald Porretti

In partnership with the Municipality of Schirmeck and the Strasbourg Philharmonic Orchestra, the European Community of Alsace offers a decentralized concert.
Duo of quintets. Only twelve years separate them and almost everything brings them together. Same unusual nomenclature, same tonality, same theatrical dimensions. These quintets written by two thirty-year-old composers are united by a common spirit. When Mozart's Quintet for Piano and Winds was premiered in 1784 at the Imperial and Royal National Court Theater in Vienna, he wrote to his father Leopold: "I myself consider it to be the best thing I have written in my life ". The public is not mistaken and gives a warm welcome to this masterpiece of delicacy. It is no coincidence that Beethoven, four years after the death of the man he admired so much, wrote a quintet in his turn. His quintet is distinguished by an assertive piano part and great energy. Let's listen… In the Andante cantabile, we perceive an allusion to an aria sung by Zerline in the opera Don Giovanni. Can we imagine a better sign of respect from someone who still has a long way to go?